Zen

When the year changes, I feel depressed since it reminds me that I am ageing with the rest of my life decreasing.

As mentioned previously, everything is empty, that is, not real but imaginary. Time is one of representative examples illustrating this fact. Time, as you see, is only imaginary and it is invisible and intangible. This is why it can be possible that it is 4 p.m. in Seoul when it is 7 a.m. in London and 2 a.m. in New York.

HATCHL~1a_thumb

 

Thinking that the rest of our lives dwindles as we are getting older every year is just like picking up a hair of a turtle from a box made of the horn of a rabbit and putting it in another box made of the horn of a rabbit. Although it seems as if the number of the hairs of the turtle in the former box were reducing and  that of the latter box were increasing, nothing is happening in fact because there is no such things as the hair of a turtle and the horn of a rabbit.

 

Student: “How old are you?”

Master: “I have no calendar.”

 

©Boo Ahm

 

All writing ©Boo Ahm. All images ©Simon Hathaway

 

#zen #meditation #zenmeditation #enlightened #enlightenment #zenfools #photography

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s